THE CATGIRLS’ MEWSINGS FOR JULY, 2007!

by

Welcome to “The Mew”

Yvonne:
“The Mew?” I thought we were the Media Mewsings, nya!

Jeannie:
It is someone’s idea of a joke. Probably Mike!

Mary Nyan:
Anymeow, Aloha and welcome back everyone!

Elizabeth:
What is our first topic?

TV Channel Cats

Yvonne:
We should discuss current TV shows, nya!

Jeannie:
I like Namaste Yoga and Samantha Brown’s new Travel Channel show, Passport to Latin America!

Yvonne:
um-

Mary Nyan:
There’s a new fishing show on Versus I like… they catch lots of nice fish…

Yvonne:
nya…

Elizabeth:
I wanna be on Caliente!

Yvonne:
I meant we should discuss current science fiction / fantasy TV shows, nya.

Jeannie:
Oh I forgot- sorry!

Mary Nyan:
I think Doctor Who is the best of the season.

Elizabeth:
The Legion of Super Heroes cartoon had a nice finale with the Sun Eater story!

Yvonne:
I suppose that new show on HBO, John From Cincinatti is science fiction or fantasy, nya!

Jeannie:
There are definitely supernatural things and weirdness going on

Mary Nyan:
I did not care for the dialog…

Elizabeth:
I thought it seemed rather David Mamet-ish. Speaking of HBO, what was up with that cat
in the final episode of The Soparanos?

Jeannie:
Beats me… but oh I have a question about the Sci Fi channel-

Mary Nyan:
What is it?

Jeannie:
They’ve been showing Silence of the Lambs and Hannibal… but does that count as Sci Fi?

Yvonne:
nnnyyahhh… well it is fiction, maybe the forensic and the psychology aspects are the science part.

Mary Nyan:
I tend to think of that series as suspense thrillers, but maybe they qualify as horror movies.

Elizabeth:
This reminds me of the debate we had about what genre(s) Jaws counts as!

Mary Nyan:
… and our James Bond discussion…

Jeannie:
I wanna be on Caliente too!

Elizabeth:
Where would we sign up?

Yvonne
:
sigh… OK I think we’re done with that topic… so… has anyone any mew-

Cat Toys

Mary Nyan:
I got a new fishtail board!

Yvonne:
um-

Elizabeth:
May I ride it?

Mary Nyan:
Hai!

Yvonne
:
nnn… I meant-

Jeannie:
I got some new brass zils! hee!

Yvonne:
I meant science fiction / fantasy type toys!

Elizabeth:
What are zils?

(Jeannie & Yvonne in unison):
Finger cymbals!

Elizabeth:
Sorry! Do you have any new toys, Vonny?

Yvonne:
I do! I got the Kaiyodo figure of Misty May, the bunny girl mascot of the anime Otaku No Video, and the subsequent 2 figure set of Bunny Girls Karen & Rio, all sculpted by Monsieur Bome. The Bome series of figures seem to be seem to be coming out much more often of late (Karen & Rio are the 21st release) and the prices seem to be a bit higher, but they are still a good value for a lovely figure of that scale, nya.

Elizabeth:
I also bought an anime figure, Kotobukiya’s Yumiko Readman from the anime Read or Die, sculpted by Hiroshi Inagaki. She is wonderfully posed on one foot, spinning around with books on one hand and sheets of paper in the other. It is so cute!

Mary Nyan:
I want some zils too!

Jeannie:
You can play with mine and then decide if you want to buy a set.

Yvonne:
sigh… oh well, I guess zils would actually segue us to the next topic-

Hello Catgirl in the Sand: Mewsic

Jeannie:
I really liked Hans Zimmer’s soundtrack for Pirates of the Carribean At World’s End!
I’ll probably get the new Harry Potter soundtrack too.

Mary Nyan:
I read that the new ManoWar CD is a concept album about the Norse God Odin…
they have great cover art by Ken Kelly! Oh and Judas Priest’s latest is Nostradamus…

Elizabeth:
She is quite the headbanger.

Yvonne:
The other night on the radio I heard the song “See You Fading Afar” by the ‘symphonic metal’ band Edenbridge, from their album The Grand Design… which I promptly ordered and rather liked! It has a very pretty and epic quality. I would definitely be interested in buying more of their mewsic, nya.

Elizabeth
:
I don’t have any new mewsic CDs but I do have some new DVDs!

DVD Purr-chases

Jeannie:
What DVDs purr-taining to the genre have you recently purr-chase, Lizzy?

Elizabeth:
I’ve been buying the anime series The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya. Volume 2 just came out. How ’bout you, ‘Myayr?

Mary Nyan:
I spent all of my hobby money on the surf board, comic books, movie tickets, and sushi platters, so I have to wait on the CDs and DVDs I want, which include three July releases: the new Babylon 5 direct-to-DVD movie “Lost Tales”, Bewitched Complete Fifth Season, and the movie 300. Whatchoo got, JennJenn?

Jeannie:
I’ve been enjoying the heck out of the animated Hellboy series! Vol.1 was titled Sword of Storms, in which Hellboy and the BPRD Team encounter creatures of Japanese folklore. Vol.2 Blood and Iron just came out last month, which is a vampire tale set in Central Europe. Sean “Cheeks” Galloway, one of their concept artists, was at Heroes Con last month! Speaking of vampires, I understand that Vonny has some mews?

Yvonne:
Right you are, Jenn! (waits for anyone to get that MXC-ish play-on-words, but just hears crickets chirping) nya… here’s a bit of DVD news friends have reported that two of the titles that we mentioned in last month’s wish list, will be released on inexpensive R1 DVDs in the Fall, and both involve… vampires! Hopefully just
in time for Halloween fun. First there’s 1977 BBC TV production of Count Dracula starring Louis Jourdan. Next is 1974’s Chosen Survivors, to be issued as a double-feature with The Earth Dies Screaming, will all supposedly be released in September! I believe these titles are listed at amazon.com for possible pre-order.

Elizabeth:
That’s good mews. Well, purr-haps we should move on to theatrical releases so ‘Myayr can offer some reviews!

Mary Nyan:
Mee-yay!

At the Mewies

(warning: plot spoilers for Pirates of the Caribbean at World’s End, Fantastic Four- Rise of the Silver Surfer, Ratatouille, Transformers, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, and an almost debate over Live Free Die Hard Trying)

Jeannie:
Remember that we’re supposed to only be reviewing recent science fiction, fantasy & horror movies, so we shouldn’t digress to movies not of those genres, such as Nancy Drew, Ocean’s 13, or Live Free Die Hard Trying- even if we did enjoy them!

Yvonne:
nyaaa… but Live Free Die Hard Trying had a lot of computer science in it and it was fiction… wouldn’t that make it just a little science fiction?

Jeannie:
I don’t think it works that way…

Mary Nyan:
What about the Matthew Broderick movie War Games then?

Elizabeth:
I bet if the computers in this movie had cool names like Hal 9000, Colossus, Kitt or Tron you’d call it sci fi!

Yvonne
:
Nya!

Jeannie:
Look, just because the movie has criminals that use computers does not necessarily make it that genre!

Mary Nyan:
It’s got an F-35B Lightning II in it too.

Elizabeth:
I think we should let her review the movie, regardless.

Jeannie:
Oh OK then! Vonny, what did you think of Live Free Die Hard Trying?

Yvonne:
It was a lot of fun and although I didn’t like it as much as the first Die Hard, I liked it more than 2 & 3.

Mary Nyan:

Elizabeth:

Jeannie:
That’s your review?

Yvonne
:
Hai!

Mary Nyan:
Well that wasn’t so bad, was it?

Yvonne:
Hee!

Jeannie:
Ah, well, who’s next? What other reviews we got?

Elizabeth:
We still haven’t seen Shrek 3 or Surf’s Up yet! There are so many summer movies to choose from. That leaves us Pirates of the Carribean At World’s End, Fantastic Four 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer, Transformers and Ratatouille to discuss. Myayr should go first!

Mary Nyan
:
My review is of Pirates of the Carribean At World’s End. I quite enjoyed this movie, which has some beautiful, thrilling moments, highest production values and a great cast. Folks going to see this movie should stay until after the end credits because there’s an important, debatable scene afterwards, which I think casts a much happier resolution to the fate of two main characters.

This 3rd film in the series feels very much like a ‘bookend’ to the 2nd film, the two combining to form one very long, grand tale, nya. I think I like this one more than the 2nd one, but I like the entire series very much, nya. The FX are lavish, supporting characters get bigger parts, Keith Richards makes an amewsing brief cameo (he even plays guitar) and Hans Zimmer’s music score was most rousing! OK who’s next?

Elizabeth:
My review is of Fantastic Four 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer, which I thought was a much superior movie to its predecessor. It has plenty of super-heroics, not only does it star the Fantastic Four and the Silver Surfer, but Dr. Doom returns and Galactus approaches. Frankie Ray also appears. I think it’s got a cast, FX, high production values, costumes, though it did feel a tad rushed.

Doom is far too charming, the Surfer way too soft-spoken and not enough of a trash-talker, and as nice as Jessica Alba is, she seems too young for the role of Sue Storm. Johnny was not as annoying as he was in the first FF movie. Ben is not given enough to do, sadly regulated to comedic relief. The US military is also portrayed in a less than competent, less than noble light in this movie.

Some of the humorous moments in the movie actually work for me to an extent, although it does get way too bit too comedic. I could have done without the bear scene, or Sue whining about her wedding when the Earth is about to be destroyed. There are many great scenes, plenty of sci fi high tech stuff and use of super powers.

I think the movie does nicely capture the spirit and imagery of the FF as a family / adventurers in a lavish, action packed, epic enough way, although it does not adequately adapt what is one of the most significant stories in comic book history, partly because Galactus is just a cloud and not a giant man in a vast spaceship that the FF might explore in hopes of defeating him, instead of the cheesy deau ex machina surfer solution
that defeated Galactus far too easily. How Galactus is depicted is one of the bigger failings of the film.

I wish Galactus were more of a giant humanoid form and not a V’Ger-like cloud. Had we glimpsed, even but for a tiny moment, a helmeted giant purple humanoid silhouette in the heart of that cloud just before the Surfer explodes, that tiny little touch would have gone a long way for me- but it’s just not there. Some claim they see
it, or what might be the shadow of G’s horned helmet passing by Saturn, or his face inside the cloud at the end of the movie- but I was looking for it carefully, and it’s just not there in my opinion. Purrhaps my eyes need new glasses, but any supposed hint of a humanoid Galactus is just too vague. Still, they are very lovely FX shots!

I also wish other Marvel characters such as Spider-Man, Hulk, X-Men etc were at least mentioned, so that there was a sense of a shared Marvel Universe, but no such luck. Sadly, all Marvel movies are guilty of this. Also, the ‘power swapping subplot’ didn’t make much sense to me and and seemed unnecessary and too comedic.
Ultimately, it is a better movie than the first FF movie, but it pales compared to the original “Coming of Galactus’ story in the comics, just as X-Men 3 was a huge disappointment in its attempt to tell the Dark Phoenix story.

Mary Nyan:
Gosh Lizzy that was pretty thorough…

Yvonne:
…and I was worried that I was gonna say too much, nya!

Jeannie:
What kind of board does the Silver Surfer ride?

Elizabeth:
Looked like a short board, with no leash. OK JennJenn, what do you have to say about Ratatouille?

Jeannie:
Meyow- your review was much more thorough than what I was gonna say about Ratatouille! Although I think The Incredibles is still my favorite Pixar film; it was my favorite movie of 2003… but Ratatouille maintains Pixar’s superb track record of cinematic genius, and is my favorite film thus far this year. It’s one of those rarities in cinema, live-action or animated: a darn near purr-fect film. It’s beautiful, humorous, poignant, and as the credits proudly proclaim: 100% genuine animation, no mo-cap!

The characters, the story, the music, the voice cast, editing, the lavish scenic art… it’s all quite marvelous. And there is are some wonderful moments involving are Karloff- esque food critic character named Ego (spoiler alert) First, the emotional reaction he has upon tasting the ratatouille… may be Pixar’s single finest moment. Second, the Ego’s final critique of the restaurant is a more profound statement than
I think I’ve ever heard a critic of ANY kind (art, food, movies, books, etc) so eloquently impart.

Elizabeth:
Vonny, would you care to comment on Transformers?

Jeannie:
Yeah Vonny- you have not said as much as the rest of us!

Yvonne:
OK… well, um, I did not think it was very good… it’s too much of a sit com with annoying silly human characters except for the soldiers. Some of the robots are played for laughs too and Megatron looks way to much like Evang-

Mary Nyan
:
Eek- not the ‘E’ word!

Yvonne
:
Sorry, nya!

Elizabeth:
Ok go on- what else did you not like about it?

Yvonne:
It felt too much like a remake of Independence Day… and only 1/4 of the movie is Autobots Vs Decepticons… and there are some awful songs during the end credits…

Jeannie:
Vonny, what if anything did you like about the movie?

Yvonne:
Um… well ‘cept for Megatron and that annoying little robot that transforms into a CD Player the robots are great, the FX are very good, there are some nice sets…Mekeala is pretty… and…

Mary Nyan:
Go on!

Yvonne:
Um… and… it’s the biggest cinematic love letter to the US Military since The Final Countdown! I don’t wanna say too much more though, nya!

Elizabeth:
That was a good review!

Yvonne:
Hee!

We’ll have an Order of the Phoenix…

Mary Nyan:
Our final film to comment upon this month is Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. I am amazed that this is already the 5th Harry Potter movie! So what did y’all think of it? How does it compare to the others?

Elizabeth:
It’s a dark, serious story, but Harry and his friends are quite heroic. There are so many characters in this movie, several main characters from the previous films that get little screen time, and quite a few characters from the novel that are not even in the film. So much was crammed into so little time!

Jeannie
:
The cast, sets, effects and music are excellent. Like the previous films in the series, it has the highest production values & is quite entertaining. Among the new sets we get are the Ministry of Magic headquarters, the secret base of the Order of the Phoenix, and Hogwart’s Room of Requirement.

Yvonne:
The plot moves along at such a rapid pace, there seems little time for quieter character moments, but I suppose it is to be expected because so much is happening, nya. The film does have a rather dark tone, but there are many beautiful & exciting scenes, nya. I think this is the first of the movies to not include a Quidditch match, although there
is a lovely nighttime broom flight scene, nya.

Mary Nyan:
I really enjoyed this movie and I thought it was a good adaptation of the novel, although I cannot yet say which of the Harry Potter films are my favorite. I like them all!

Elizabeth
:
I agree, and I think it is a much better movie than Transformers. Of movies to be released in the 2nd half of 2007, this new Harry Potter movie is thus far my favorite… but then, I have not seen many July releases yet!

Jeannie:
This is an exciting time for Harry Potter fans- it’s the 10th anniversary of the book series, there’s the 5th movie, new toys, and the final book comes out this month!

Yvonne
:
Purrhaps we’ll have read the new book in time for next month’s mewsings, nya!

Mary Nyan:
There was a trailer for the Get Smart movie coming out next year, starring Steve Carrell as Maxwell Smart! I think that is purrfect casting. It also stars Anne Hathaway and The Rock!

Favorite Films of the First Half of 2007


Elizabeth
:
Well let’s stay with 2007 for now! So of the first half of the year, what’s our favorite movie thus far? I think Ratatouille is the best!

Jeannie:
Ratatouille is my favorite, and Pirates of the Caribbean at World’s End might be my second favorite.

Mary Nyan
:
Either 300 or Grindhouse!

Yvonne:
Which part of Grindhouse? Doesn’t that count as 2 movies, nya?

Mary Nyan:
Oh I can’t decide… both parts! What’s your favorite, Vonny?

Yvonne:
Spider-Man 3, nya!

Elizabeth:
There are a few genre films that got away- as we have not yet seen Ghost Rider, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Meet the Robinsons, Shrek the Third or Surf’s Up.

Jeannie:
YET, Lizzy- there’s always DVD. And a couple of those are still in theaters. We’ll get our chance!

Coming Cat-tractions

Mary Nyan:
You said it, JennJenn! So, what are the upcoming movies we hope to see in the latter half of 2007?

Yvonne:
Hmm… there’s 1408, The Simpsons, Stardust, Underdog… so many, nya!

Elizabeth:
Hai, and that’s just finishing up the summer season, Then there’s, Tinker Bell, Halloween, Godzilla 3D to the Max, 30 Days of Night, Beowulf, and I am Legend!

Jeannie:
Lizzy, that does not even include all the sequels such as National Treasure: Book of Secrets, Alien Vs Predator 2, Mortal Kombat: Devastation, Spawn 2, Resident Evil: Extinction…

Mary Nyan:
I want to see Day of the Dead and Diary of the Dead.

Yvonne:
I’m not sure when those are scheduled to be released…

Elizabeth:
I think I have too many hobbies to adequately fund!

Jeannie:
Bellydance and yoga are much cheaper, hee!

Mary Nyan:
Swimmin’ and fishin’ are cheap too.. plus with fishin’ you get to eat!

Yvonne:
We should go to a Fishing Expo again!

Elizabeth:
Our convention calendar is already overstuffed!

Jeannie:
Gosh, that reminds me- we still have not yet spoken about-

Heroes Con

Yvonne:
In June we went to Heroes Con, the big annual comic book convention in Charlotte, and it was so much fun! What were your fondest moments of the con? Just seeing so many friends there again was my favorite part, nya!

Mary Nyan:
There were so many wonderful guests and professional artists, writers, and editors there, and dealers & venders selling all kinds of neat stuff. The hotel we stayed in was very nice and we ate at some nice nearby restaurants too!

Elizabeth:
The art auction was impressive, with actress Rosario Dawson as one of the presenters, and it was so nice to see Shelton (who runs the con) receive that cake and applause in honor of the con’s 25th anniversary!

Jeannie:
I really enjoyed that DC comics discussion panel that was so enthusiastically moderated by Dan Didido and the other panelists. It was 90 minutes of fun and the packed audience had such a good time!

Elizabeth:
There were terrific costumes including Capt America, Spider Girl, Batman, Harly Quinn, Poison Ivy, Superman, Zatanna, Super Girl, Spider-Man, Stormtroopers, Klingons, Ghostbusters, Red Sonja, Ayla Secura, Inu Yasha, Belldandy, Kill Bill, Naruto Ninjas, Power Rangers and various fantasy costumes worn by adults and kids!

Mary Nyan
:
I don’t think we could have had a better time, and I look forward to going again next year!

(all four catgirls in unison)
WE LOVE HEROES CON!

The Lightning Round!

Yvonne:
It’s time for his month’s lightning round! A one word or brief sentence answer only, nya!

Jeannie:
Lightning round yay!

Elizabeth:
The lightning round topic issss… What comic book series would you most like to see continued? Go!

Mary Nyan:
I’d like to see more Adventures of of Simone & Ajax, by Andrew Pepoy.

Yvonne:
Xenozoic Tales, also known as Cadillacs & Dinosaurs, by Mark Schultz, nya. !

Jeannie:
I wish they’d publish more of my favorite comic book from the last ten years, Leave it to Chance by James Robinson and Paul Smith!

Elizabeth:
I think more Arthur Adams’ Jonni Future stories would be nice…

Hey Kits- Comics!
(warning: plot spoilers for various DC & Marvel titles)

Yvonne:
The finyal issue of the 12 issue Justice miniseries could not have been more beautiful, and JLA #10 had my motor running faster with every single panel. It was so good, nya! As for the fate of Bart in The Flash #13…it was sad and unnecessary in my opinion…

I’ve been eagerly awaiting Sinestro Corp #1. It was worth the wait and most exciting! It is a big epic tale, with some extremely scary, powerful villains (old and new) that are ready to instill a lot of fear in the galaxy and try to destroy not just the Green Lanterns but put a big hurting on the rest of the DC universe. The story and art were excellent.

Elizabeth:
I continue to be impressed with Astonishing X-Men, Captain America, and World War Hulk seems to be off to a thrilling start.

Jeannie:

Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8.

Mary Nyan:
I read the first volume of the manga Free Collars Kingdom, which is fairly interesting, and I’ve recently started reading Rachel Nabor’s delightful A Subculture of One! It has a neat cat named Tuna in it.

Yvonne:
What pending comics do y’all most anticipate? Mine’s the wedding of Black Canary & Green Arrow, nya!

Elizabeth:
Hmm… for me, it’s the aftermath of Civil War and World War Hulk, and the new Skrull plot that tey introduced in New Avengers #31. I just hope the writers at Marvel have known about the Skrull thing for years and kept it secret, and that it was not just a recently concocted ‘retcon’ plot.

Jeannie:
More of Buffy Season 8, Angel Season 6, and Red Sonja teaming up again with Spider-Man! A dream comic I would like to see would be Red Sonja teaming up with Buffy for lotsa slayage!

Jeannie
:
Red Sonja’s the original ‘slayer’!

Mary Nyan:
I guess the comics I am most looking forward to are the next installments of the various web comics I’ve been following, and the next volumes of the manga series I’ve been buying. Speaking of which-

Our Lucky Kitty 13 Web Comics Picks of the Litter

Mary Nyan:
This is a new feature we’ll be doing every month. In order to promote the exciting medium of web comics, we’ll list several that we think are quite nice!

Yvonne:
We’re not going to actually review them- we’re just listing them for you to consider checking out! We are already longwinded enough as it is, nya!

Elizabeth
:
There are many that we’ve found appealing to list in coming months, but for now, here are thirteen to start. Each of us selected three, and our friend Mike picked month’s theme and the thirteenth pick.

(all four catgirls in unison):
Mike!!!

Mike:
Hi girls! How are y’all doing?

(all four catgirls in unison):
Fine!!!

Mike:
So do y’all have July’s web comics picks ready to announce?

(all four catgirls in unison):
Hai!!!

Yvonne:
Nyaow!

Mike:
The theme for this month is that all are comics created by the nice folks who’ve attended meetings of the North Carolina Web Comics Coffee Clatch, whose web site is http://ncwccc.net.

Jeannie:
I’ll go! I chose Mckenzee’s Sinister Bedfellows, Ursula Vernon’s Digger, and Jeff Darlington’s General Protection Fault

Mary Nyan:
My turn! I picked Christopher Wright’s Ubersoft, Jenny Breeden’s The Devil’s Panties, and Paul Friedrich’s Onion Head Monster,

Yvonne
:
My selections are Philip Lagas-Rivera & Cameron J’s The Shallow End, Stephanie Freese, David Milloway, & Matt Wood’s Likley Stories, and Brian Shearer & Marty Belvins’ Fanboy Almanac

Elizabeth:
I picked Leah Riley’s Willrad, Phillip DM Wright’s Furmentation and Arianna Lee’s A World of My Own

Mike:
For the thirteenth pick, I hafta go with Joe Komenda’s Feral Chicken, Good stuff! OK I’m outta here- thanks girls!

(all four catgirls in unison):
Bai Mike!

Look Homeward, Catgirl

Jeannie:
Darn, we forgot to ask Mike if he’s the one behind ‘The Mew’ joke…

Yvonne:
Oh well, let’s bring this kitty to a close. What is on tap for next month, nya?

Mary Nyan:
Our interview with the stars of Clan of the Cats and Sebo’s kitty Club!

Elizabeth:
The monthly web comix pix of the litter!

Jeannie:
Folks, that’s it for this month’s edition of the Catgirl Critics’ Media mewsings!

Yvonne:
Everybody out there remember to turn off your cell phone
and not to talk or text message during a movie in a theater, nya!

Mary Nyan:
If y’all have any polite, sincere, brief comments, feel free to post them in response to our discussion-provided that your remarks are spam-free, not argumentative, and stay on-topic, nya!

Elizabeth
:
Thank y’all very much for visiting!

(The catgirls in unison):
BAI BAI!

Next time-
The Catgirls interview the stars of Jamie Robertson’s web comics
Clan of the Cats and Sebo’s Kitty Club! Be there… aloha.

2 Responses to “THE CATGIRLS’ MEWSINGS FOR JULY, 2007!”

  1. bluecollar49 Says:

    Hi There!

    Came across your post this morning in Tags. I will come back and read the whole thing later, but I find this concept amusing at the very least. I also sell anime figures, and actually just got the Honey Bunnies figure set in from Kaiyodo and they just look excellent.

    Lew
    http://www.fln50.com

  2. The Catgirl Critics Says:

    Aloha Lew! We seldom reply to folks’ responses, but thank you for your comments. I’m rather fond of that pair of Bome bunnygirls too, although I’m running out of room for my figures! So many toys, so little space. And there are new Bome oni girls to tempt me. Sigh!

    Thanks for visiting.

    – Elizabeth of the Catgirl Critics

Leave a Reply

