The Catgirl Critics’ Mewsings August, 2007

by

The crew of ‘The Mew’ interview the cast of Jamie Robertson’s web comics Clan of the Cats and Sebo’s Kitty Club, briefly review the Japanese anime film Paprika, and offer their usual web picks of the litter!

 

Jeannie:

Aloha and welcome back to ‘The Mew’!


Yvonne:

Meowllow Greetings! We only do this once as month, ’cause we stay busy with other hobbies like surfing.

napping on sunny rooftops, and eating fish … plus we tend to get rather long-winded, nyaa….


Elizabeth:

Hi Hi! Usually we chat about recent science fiction, fantasy & horror movies, TV, books ‘n stuff, but this month is an extra special edition in which we get to interview some celebrities!


Mary Nyan:

Howdy y’all! Visiting us here at Catgirl Island from the nearby town of Haven, NC are some of the stars of

Sebo’s Kitty Club and Clan of the Cats!


Jeannie:

Chelsea Chattan and her daughter Charlotte –


Elizabeth:

Welcome to Catgirl Island and ‘The Mew’, y’all!


Chelsea:

hi!


Charlotte:

Hey! (running around)


Mary Nyan:

-and all the cats: Sebastian, Eon, Beige, Leander, Seydi, Fluff & Loki!


Sebastian (Sebo):

Hello.


Eon:

Howdy!


Beige:

Can I get a tummy rub?


Leander:

meow!


Sadie:

Hey wow you catgirls sure are- um- colorful…!


Fluff:

Thank you for inviting us!


Loki:

(eerily) Greetings


Yvonne:

Please help yourselves to the refreshments- we’ve got iced tea, apple berry nummy juice, shaved ice, extra special baked yams, and Strathaird salmon, nya!


Elizabeth:

Chelsea, you must lead such a busy life- not only do you appear in those two web comics but there’s also been Melpomene and Mythos & Magick.


Chelsea:

Yes we do stay rather busy!


Jeannie:

Is it harder to do the drama in Clan of the Cats (COTC) or the comedy in Sebo’s Kitty Club (SKK)?


Chelsea:

I definitely prefer the latter- it’s less traumatic! And I am more or less the ‘straight man’.


Sebo:

Obviously SKK is the more important of the two. The first collection is in print, by the way!


Mary Nyan:

The Chattans may be fellow North Carolinians, but I understand that you cats are not from around here?


Sebo:

Hardly!


Yvonne:

I’ll bet you’ve seen many amazing things in history since you’re like thousands of years old, nyaa?


Sadie:

The burning of the Library of Alexandria stands out was one of humanity’s dumber moves.


Beige:

Ahem… tummy rub needed here…


Elizabeth:

OK (rubs her tummy)


Eon:

LIberace was fabulous. Saw him at Radio City Music Hall. Great show!


Loki:

(eerily) The Black Plague- oh those were the days. All those screams in the night!


Jeannie:


Mary Nyan:


Yvonne:

You’re scary.


Loki:

You have no idea!


Elizabeth:

Your mother must be… so proud.


Eon:

Mother’s a might peeved at the Seboster of late!


Jeannie:

We noticed that in a recent episode of COTC when she trapped you in a bubble over the ocean…


Leander:

(helping him self to the salmon) myow!


Sadie:

That ocean was on another planet, by the way!


Fluff:

Mother never does anything in a small way!


Mary Nyan:

Another planet? Wow- ever been to Mars?


Eon:

Yeah. Not much there now. Not like in the good old days.


Yvonne:

Whatcha know about… aliens?


Eon:

I liked it better than Alien 3 or the other sequels.


Yvonne:

Er… hee… I meant like the possibility of alien / extraterrestrial life in general… nyaa…


Sebo:

Let’s just say that there was once an ancient civilization on Mars.


Elizabeth:

Yay- I knew it!


Loki:

But they are all gone, heh heh heh!


Jeannie:


Mary Nyan:

…um…


Yvonne:

Dude you really need to lighten up.


Elizabeth:

Hai- especially when you’re at the beach with free food!


Chelsea:

(whispers) His bark is worse than his bite, girls!


Mary Nyan:

Ah… um… so y’all have travelled to other planets and dimensions!


Yvonne:

Nya!! Like a mirror universe where Spock has a beard and Willow is a vampire? Or other Sebos?


Sebo:

No, there aren’t any other versions of me. But I do exist everywhere pandimensionally. You see, the space-time continuum is not the same to me as it is to you.


Elizabeth:

Oh I remember in one strip your present self met your past self!


Sebo:

Mmhmm. Say could you please pass that salmon?


Jeannie:

Chelsea, may I ask you a witch question?


Chelsea:

Sure!


Charlotte:

Momma can I go swimming?


Chelsea:

In a little while!


Jeannie:

So, I am curious… is being a witch… a religion, lifestyle, hobby, or an occupation?


Chelsea:

In my case I was born a witch- it’s just what I am. But for many humans it’s both a spiritual path and lifestyle.

Oh, in simplest terms, it’s like on Bewitched- in COTC, witches are born apart from mortal humans.


Yvonne:

And you can do magic!


Chelsea:

Oh yes I can work spells, but it’s not twitching my nose and making things appear!


Elizabeth:

What do you think of the various famous TV and movie witches?


Chelsea:

Bewitched is funny but not accurate. Charmed is OK. I like Willow of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, but her character seemed a bit simplistic.


Jeannie:

Are you looking forward to the new, final Harry Potter book?


Chelsea:

Oh yes. It’s all fantasy but I like it quite a bit!


Mary Nyan:

We’re big Harry Potter fans! We’re reading the new book now, and plan to review both it and the new movie next month.


Yvonne:

What about the negative portrayals of witches, such as the Wicked Witch of the West?


Chelsea:

Actually I found her rather sympathetic… especially after reading the novel Wicked. Glenda the Good Witch was kinda boring though.


Elizabeth:

I liked the flying monkeys!


Jeannie:

How about Kiki’s Delivery Service, or Sabrina the Teenage Witch? They are good witches with talking cats!


Chelsea:

I have not seen Kiki’s…


Sebo:

Sigh. Everyone compares me to Sabrina’s cat Salem. He’s just a human that got turned into a cat.


Mary Nyan:

Talking cats do often get a bad rap.


Sadie:

Tell me about it!


Leander:

Myow!


Yvonne:

Nyaa!


Fluff:

We have a long history of bad press. We need better agents.


Beige:

And more tummy rubs.


Yvonne:

I hope this is not an uncomfortable topic for you, but the Dracula story in COTC sure has gone on for a very long time, nya!


Chelsea:

Yes it sure has! Fighting monsters, seeing so many people die, going to Hell- not my fonder memories! But… I would not be who I am today if I had not gone through all of that.


Elizabeth:

That which does not kill you makes you stronger!


Loki:

Oh I so wish I could have been there, to see all that deliciously sweet agony!


Chelsea:

(rolls her eyes)


Mary Nyan:

Dude you are seriously messed up!


Yvonne:

Do you actually let that weird cat near your daughter, nya?


Chelsea:

Not on purpose, no. Although to be fair, I’ve had my share of evil moments… sigh.


Charlotte:

(runs by)


Chelsea:

She can be the little hellion sometimes too! (laughs)


Charlotte:

Momma!


Chelsea:

Just kidding!


Jeannie:

Your sister Mel definitely has a darker, violent streak!


Chelsea:

I wish I had her confidence under fire!


Elizabeth:

Our friend Mike thinks she is hot!


Chelsea:

Him and every other guy (laughs)!


Jeannie:

How is your other sister Cynthia?


Chelsea:

She, Paul and the baby are all doing fine, thank you!


Mary Nyan:

Paul is cute.


Chelsea:

Yeahhh, but don’t tell Jubal!


Yvonne:

How is Jubal?


Chelsea:

He’s fine too- busy at the station!


Charlotte:

Momma I want a tail ring like those ladies have!


Elizabeth:

hee!


Jeannie:

There are some nice jewelry shops here on the island!


Chelsea:

Maybe when you’re older.


Mary Nyan:

On that note I have a lychanthrope question… now when you become a panther, you’re a regular full size panther, but when your sister Mel changes she is half human and half cat.


Yvonne:

Catgirrrl! Nyyyaa!


Chelsea:

That’s because she is what is termed an ‘Alpha Morph’.


Mary Nyan:

As opposed to…


Chelsea:

A ‘Pureblood Morph’.


Yvonne:

Can you transform whenever you want to?


Chelsea:

I can nowadays but it took a long time to be able to.


Elizabeth:

So Beige, I take it you’re an Alpha Morph then?


Beige:

In my case, it’s just one of my super powers, to be able to shape shift into human form.


Jeannie:

I bet all that hell stuff, monster fighting and changing into a wild animal make it hard to get health insurance!


Chelsea:

Ah well fortunately due to certain avenues, it’s not an issue, plus I heal pretty quickly, and Jubal’s got a health plan at work.


Mary Nyan:

So each cat here has super powers?


Fluff:

I can make the flowers bloom!


Sadie:

I can make fireworks- wanna see?


Mary Nyan:

later purrhaps


Leander:

meow!


Yvonne:

Nyaa!


Eon:

Kittygirls, trust me, you do not want to know what’s in Loki’s bag of tricks!


Loki:

heh!


Sebo:

mmm I do love the taste of a good salmon!


Elizabeth:

Do you mind if we ask you some religion questions?


Chelsea:

Not at all!


Elizabeth:

Being a pagan / witch, was it difficult for you growing up in a small southern, predominantly Christian town

in which other faiths than yours got all the federal holidays?


Chelsea:

For example, I experienced Christmas like most other kids there did, so as a little girl it did not bother me,

but as I got older it did bother me more, but not so much any more. Remember that aside from being a celebration of the birth of Jesus, much of Christmas has older pagan roots. I just hope that people are sincere about their beliefs and know the true meanings, whatever their chosen religion might be.


Jeannie:

The residents of Catgirl island have all types of religions observed here. We even got a Shinto shrine! But back to your web comic adventures, in addition to COTC and SKK you’ve appeared in other comics.


Chelsea:

I do get around!


Mary Nyan:

There’s Melpomene, Mythos & Magick, and let’s not forget Zoom!


Chelsea:

Oh that (laughs)!


Yvonne:

Some of the folks might not be familiar with Zoom, nya…


Chelsea:

Ugh- not my best work! That was a very early prototype gig, a precursor to COTC that appeared in the Elon College newspaper The Pendulum back in in 1994 or ’95.


Jeannie:

Could you compare & contrast your work in Melpomene, Mythos & Magick, Clan of the Cats and Sebo’s Kitty Club?


Chelsea:

As for Mythos & Magick, it was interesting, traveling back in time to ancient history, and like COTC it had it’s share of both fun and depressing moments.


Jeannie:

But now you are only starring in Clan of the Cats and Sebo’s Kitty Club- why is that?


Chelsea:

Mythos & Magick did not last because we kept running out of artists! Unlike Clan of the Cats or Sebo’s Kitty Club, Melpomene was only intended to be a one shot, limited series. Although it is going to be printed!


Mary Nyan:

yay!


Yvonne:

What does Mel think of that?


Chelsea:

Oh I don’t know- she’ll either be beside herself or she might just not care!


Charlotte:

Aunt Mel is fun but… Momma won’t let me read her stories.


Chelsea:

You’re not old enough, honey.


Charlotte:

I can’t wait ’til I get older then I’ll be able to do stuff!


Elizabeth:

Let’s talk about your readers… what sort of person reads Clan of the Cats or Sebo’s Kitty Club?


Jeannie:

Besides us!


Sebastian:

Obviously, only the most intelligent people read the comics, SEBO especially.


Charlotte:

I think they’re real smart people and real nice people too. Both. Smart and nice.


Eon:

Freaky deeky people, but good freaky deeky people.


Chelsea:

First of all I want to say thank you to all the people who do read and support the comic. We all appreciate it very much. As far as who reads it, well, we get a great variety of people who read the comic. Some, probably a majority, are in it for the supernatural aspect, while other appreciate the Pagan/witchcraft themes of the comic. Others like the anthropomorphic and “were” themes within the comic. Sebastian’s snottiness aside, I believe most readers are a little bit older and slightly more educated than the average webcomic reader. It’s not everyone’s cup of tea to be sure, but I think that’s also part of its appeal. Anyway, that’s just my opinion.


Yvonne:

What is your relationship with your fans like?


Sebo:

I imagine it is much like the relationship between the Egyptians and Bast.

 

Chelsea:

Well, I have a blog, but I don’t post there much. I hear that a lot of readers do root for me in the catnips tagboard and I think that’s really sweet. Still, I don’t interact with the readers that much. They just see me, sometimes all of me, for better or for worse. I just appreciate that they are there.


Elizabeth:

Anything you’d like to say to the world?


Loki:

I see a red door and I want it painted black, heh heh heh.


Chelsea:

*sigh*


Charlotte:

Eat your peas! That’s what Mama always tells me.


Leander:

Meow.


Beige:

Rub you’re cat’s tummy every day.


Fluff:

Hi.


Sadie:

CLEAN OUT YOUR CAT’S LITTER BOX! I know it’s a sucky job, but it has to be done. If it’s not done we will find another spot, most likely your favorite coat or rug.


Eon:

Voulez-vous coucher avec moi (ce soir)? Well, do ya, punk?


Sebo:

Life is short. Take many naps.


Chelsea:

Ummm … goodbye? Goodbye. :)


(All four catgirls in unison)

DOMO ARIGATOO GOZAIMASU, NYA!



Our Lucky Kitty 13 Web Comics Picks of the Litter For August


Jeannie:

In honor of our special guests, I’ve chosen Jamie’s

Clan of the Cats http://clanofthecats.com/

Sebo’s Kitty Club http://clanofthecats.com/SKK.htm

and Mythos & Magick http://www.graphicsmash.com/comics/mam.php

– the latter a collaboration with artist Dani Atkinson! Ok Myayr, your turn!


Mary Nyan:

Thanks Jenn Jenn! On a related note, I selected

Melpomene http://clanofthecats.com/Melpomene/

by Jamie Robertson & Clint Hollingsworth,

Alex Byrne’s Faces http://faces.comicgenesis.com/

and College Roomies from Hell!!! http://www.crfh.net/

by Maritza Campos. OK Vondy, you’re up!


Yvonne:

My picks for this month are Gisèle Lagacé & T Campbell’s

Penny & Aggie http://www.pennyandaggie.com/

Gisèle’s Cool Cat Studio http://www.coolcatstudio.com/

and T’s Fans http://www.faans.com/

Lizzy, it’s your turn, nya!


Elizabeth:

Brian M. Richtor’s Lowest Common Denominator http://lcd.comicgenesis.com

Manny Trembley & Eric Anderson’s Panda Xpress http://www.pandaxpress.com/

and Tiffany Ross’ Alien Dice http://www.aliendice.com/


Jeannie:

Finally, our friend & landlord Mike is on the speaker phone with thirteenth pick!


Mike:

Hello Angels! My pick Clint Hollingsworth’s The Wandering Ones http://www.wanderingones.com/


Mary Nyan:

That is a good web comic.


Yvonne:

So what is next, nya?


Jeannie:

Do we have time to slip in a quick movie review?


Elizabeth:

Hai, just a quickie! But Mike should stick around to help!


Mike:

OK! I assume y’all were gonna comment on–


Paprika

(warning- possible plot spoiler for the movie Paprika)


Mary Nyan:

Lightning Round! Lightning Round! Just a brief sentence or two- go!


Yvonne:

Paprika was a good movie- not great, but good… with very good character animation, nya! It’s a smart film, but I didn’t care much for the “characters can’t tell if it’s a dream or reality” plot, nya.

Jeannie:
The voice cast did a fine job, especially Megumi Hayashibara who portrayed the title character!  She is my favorite voice actress- she’s performed so many famous anime characters!

Elizabeth:

There were some very lovely scenes, but it looked like some of the backgrounds were photos – maybe that is not a bad thing in striving for realism, but it seemed to call attention to itself.

Mike:
Compared to other films by director Satoshi Kon, I think Paprika is far more ambitious and interesting than Perfect Blue, but it’s not as fascinating as his brilliant Millennium Actress. Myayr- your thoughts?

Mary Nyan:
Paprika is more grand & lavish than Tokyo Godfathers, and I liked Paprika’s character designs more – but it was not quite as poignant a movie as Tokyo Godfathers was.

Yvonne:

Well, that’s all of us! I guess we’re about done, nya?


Let’s bring this kitty to a close…


Jeannie:

Well that’s pretty much it… What is on tap for our September Mew?


Elizabeth:

Purr-haps we’ll have our book review of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows!


Mike:

Maybe more movie reviews, such as Stardust, Sunshine, and The Simpsons?


Mary Nyan:

Wow, all those movies start with an ‘S’!


Yvonne:

I hope we’ll have some mew DVDs to review… I want to see that mew Babylon 5 DVD, nya!


Jeannie:

Wellll, thassabout it for this month then.


Elizabeth:

Everybody remember to turn off your cell phone and to not talk (no matter how old you are) nor text message during a movie in a theater! It’s not your darn living room, y’know!


Mike:

If y’all have any polite, sincere, brief comments, feel free to post them, provided that your remarks are spam-free, not argumentative, and stay on-topic!


Mary Nyan:

Thank y’all much for visiting!


(The catgirls in unison):

BAI BAI!


Leave a Reply

